At Wantage Primary School, the delivery of the curriculum is constantly reviewed so that it is broad, balanced, relevant and differentiated. Subjects are taught both individually and in a crosscurricular way. Many teaching methods and approaches are used throughout the school, recognising that children learn in different ways.

The Curriculum Rationale can be found here. Parents can find more information about the curriculum on the termly class newsletter, the curriculum plans in the box on this page, and they are always welcome to make an appointment to talk to their child's class teacher.


The Foundation Stage (F1 Reception and F2 Nursery classes) has 6 areas of learning:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Mathematical Development
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Opportunities for learning in all six areas incorporates indoor and outdoor play.


The National Curriculum and Religious Education are taught to all children from Year 1. There are five core subjects:


  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Science
  • Religious Education


The foundation subjects are History, Geography, Art, Physical Education, Music, Design Technology, PSHCE (Personal, Social, Health & Citizenship Education) and Foreign Languages.

At Key Stage 1 children are taught phonetic skills (letter sounds) using the Read Write Inc Phonic scheme.

Wantage CE Primary School, Newbury Street, Wantage, Oxon OX12 8DJ

Tel: +44 (0) 1235 762396 | Mail: | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy